A Pilgrimage to a Rainforest

Last weekend me and a bunch of friends of mine went to Kanneliya. It is a tropical rainforest and a national forest reserve. I wish I could post some photos, but my camera is broken. But you can see the photos I took on the trip to Sinharaja on my Flickr album. It was the trip of last year.

It is a really beautiful forest, complete with leeches. I wonder why the organizers always choose a place that has lot of leeches. The fact is that most of the tropical rainforests has the leeches. These leeches are harmless, and can’t crawl above your knee level. But the girls always scream when they even see a one. Two girls came with their mothers; one has “recited” about 50 rosaries when she saw the leeches and another girl actually cried.

On the way to the rain forest we stopped by a waterfall. I forgot to take my flip-flops, and my snickers heels are polished! So I went up barefooted, than risking being slipped over at the hilltop. The waterfall was at its splendor in this rainy season, and all my cloth got completely soaked just by standing about 20 meters away from it for about half an hour.

We went to another waterfall in Kanneliya, which was more beautiful. There is a pier near the waterfall where the road ends near it, from where you can see the most of it. But to experience the waterfall, you must walk between the rocks jumping on them. I lay on a rock in the middle of the stream in front of the waterfall, facing the sky. Tall trees were all around me, and I’m amid the waterfalls around me. I felt like sleeping on the lap of Gaia, looking at what she has to show me, sleeping her warmth. The clouds have so many morphing shapes, that tells us a story; if you listen to it. The flowing water sings a song, if you listen to it.

One’s picnic is another ones pilgrimage…

On our way home we went to Galle beach. I should have took a kick board, I’m not sure if I can swim or not; and a long rope too!

1 Response to “A Pilgrimage to a Rainforest”


  1. 1 Nirmal January 3, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Yeah it was a superb experience.. lots of memories and laughter.


Leave a Reply

